Council on Curriculum

Council on Curriculum – Members

orgChartClick here to see a larger chart


Position Descriptions

The associate dean for curriculum is also the chair of the Council on Curriculum. The duties of this position are to: serve as the principal source of information about the medical curriculum for others, both internally and externally verify compliance with all relevant LCME accreditation standards; integrate and implement policies and procedures approved by the Council on Curriculum that are consistent with university and/or medical school policies and procedures; and direct and coordinate the overall structure and goals of the Council on Curriculum. The chair is appointed by the dean of the School of Medicine for a term of seven years.

The Council on Curriculum consists of twelve voting members, six of which are elected by the faculty and five are appointed by the Dean of the School of Medicine. The chair is the twelfth voting member and he/she only votes to meet a quorum or in the case of a tied vote. The duties of these members include attending monthly meetings to draft, review and revise curriculum policies and procedures; to develop and supervise the ongoing review of all clinical clerkship and coursework required for graduation at the School of Medicine via the executive performance review process; to coordinate and advise as new curriculum is proposed; to provide recommendations for curricular renewal and change based on outcome measures; to monitor and report on student, clerkship, and cohort-specific measures of students’ clinical experiences on all required clerkships by using patient tracking-generated data; to review all student curriculum petitions and new electives; and to occasionally serve on ad-hoc committees to accomplish the aforementioned duties. The council also consists of the following ex-officio, non-voting members: one clinical medical librarian, one representative Department of Medical Education and Research, Assistant Dean Years 1 & 2, one representative Clinical Performance Assessment and Remediation Committee, one representative of Student Affairs, and one representative Office of Diversity and Inclusion. Elected and appointed members serve a term of three years.

Nurry Pirani, MD Associate Dean, Curriculum
Darla McCarthy, PhD Assistant Dean for Curriculum
Joe Cernich, MD Vice-Chairperson-Clinician
Maria Cole, M.Ed.L.,PhD Vice-Chairperson-Basic Scientist
Angela Barnett, MD Truman Medical Center-Clinical Scientist

Jared Keeler, MD

Rick Butin, MD                                    

Elected Docent

Docent – Alternate

Basic Science Faculty
Stuart Munro, MD Humanities/Social Sciences Representative
Bart Patenaude, MD Clinical Science Faculty
Jacqueline, MD Clinical Science Faculty
Aaron Reed, Phd Appointed Basic Science
John Price, MD Saint Luke’s Hospital Representative, Clinical Science Faculty
Tom Sullivan, MD Clerkship Director

Kristy Steigerwalt 

Ray Cattaneo, MD

Samuel Turner, Sr., J.D.

Ex-Officio member, Clinical Medical Librarian

Years 1 & 2

Diversity and Inclusion Representative

Akash Jani Student Representative, Voting Member
Laura Meidl Student Representative, Alternate
Asma Akhtar Student Representative, Alternate
Petra Bricker Student Affairs, Education Team Coordinator
Emily Haury, MD CPAR Committee Representative
Megan Frasher Curriculum Coordinator
Cara Yuen Curriculum Administrative Assistant
Year 1 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Jordan Grimmett, Imaima Casubhoy
Year 2 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Lakshmi Priya, Michael Brancato, Karina Shah, Nikhila Pokala
Year 3 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Andrew Williams, Shveta Thakkar
Year 4 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Keerthi Gondi, Erica Swanson, Jordann Dhuse, Tim Brotherton
Year 5 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Hunter Faris, Taylor Carter
Year 6 Student Curriculum Ambassadors Sai Vanam, Omar Karadaghy, Anchana Dominic, Avosuashi Akande
By-Laws of the Council on Curriculum