Giving to the School of Medicine

Youngblood Society

Yesterday’s residents are making an impact on the residents of tomorrow through the Youngblood Society, the alumni group for the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology for the UMKC School of Medicine.

Formed in 1997, the group is named after James Youngblood, MD, former president of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and chairman of the department.
The Society aims to promote resident education, support department research and enhance patient care at the residency program of the University of Missouri-Kansas City.
In its short history, the Youngblood Society has established:

  • Financial support for the library
  • Grants for resident research at both Saint Luke’s Hospital and Truman Medical Center
  • The Youngblood Society Award, given to the Chief Resident who exhibits a commitment to resident education through educating residents in all the years.

Residents receive a certificate of fellowship upon graduation, and an annual dinner in conjunction with the Spring Update welcomes back alumni each year.

The Youngblood Society is associated with the alumni office of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine. Dues are $100, and all donations are tax-deductible.
For more information, contact Jay Wilson at (816) 235-5565