Orthopaedic Surgery



The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery welcomes you. We hope you will find our web site helpful as you search for the best residency program suited to your needs. We take great pride in graduating highly qualified orthopaedic surgeons from our program. Our residents train at three Level I trauma centers in Kansas City and receive a broad education in all areas of orthopaedics, treating patients across a spectrum of all age groups with great cultural diversity.

Our application process is highly competitive and we encourage you to apply if you are committed to acquiring the best in orthopaedic education. As you check out our web site, be sure to click on Residents and meet those who are currently working to maintain our exemplary standards. They come from across the country, and when they leave us, they move on to equally competitive, highly-respected fellowship programs.

On August 25, James Bogener, M.D. was designated the next program director by the School of Medicine. Former director, Dr. Olney remains an integral part of our program, and will serve as a mentor to Dr. Bogener as we complete this transition in our program. Dr. Bogener will become full Program Director once confirmed by the Review Committee for Orthopaedic Surgery, a part of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. We anticipate no significant changes from this transition and look forward to interview and match season.

We look forward to meeting you soon!

Mark Bernhardt, M.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

James W. Bogener, M.D.
Program Director Designee

Brad Olney, M.D.
Professor and  Past Program Director


We have designed this web site to give you access to the information you might want to know about our department. We have tried to provide information about each of our associated hospitals and our staff, as well as information about our residency program and the application process for our residency. If you do not find the information you are looking for, please contact Carolyn Holtman.