Alumni receive honors as emergency medicine physician, resident

The Missouri College of Emergency Physicians recognized two School of Medicine alumni with awards during its annual meeting.

Christine Sullivan, M.D.

Christine Sullivan, M.D. ’85, associate dean for graduate medical education, received the organization’s R.R. Hannas Physician of the Year award. Brandon Elder, M.D. ’14, who serves as a chief resident in the school’s Emergency Medicine Residency Program, was honored with the R.R. Hannas Resident of the Year award.

Both awards were presented during an annual membership meeting in May in Springfield, Missouri.

Sullivan served as director of the Emergency Medicine Residency Program before assuming her role as associate dean, during which time she was selected Teacher of the Year by School of Medicine residents. She has also served as vice president of the Residency Review Committee for Emergency Medicine, chair of the Graduate Medical Education Committee, and as a member of the promotions and coordinating committees, as well as both the evaluation and selection councils. She also served as chair of the Professionalism and Interpersonal Communications Skills Milestones Remediation Taskforce for the Council of Residency Directory for Emergency Medicine.

Elder has served as a UMKC house staff cabinet member and as a student representative on the UMKC Graduate Medical Education Committee. He has served at Truman Medical Center on the Joint Council on Quality Committee and the Campus Safety Committee, and has been involved with educational activities such as the MO-KAN Resuscitation Academy and a simulation instructor and coach for the School of Medicine Emergency Interest Group.

The R.R. Hannas Awards are presented annually in recognition of Ralston R. Hannas, M.D., a past president of the American College of Emergency Physicians and chairman of the committee that founded the American Board of Emergency Medicine.