Dean’s office taking nominations for Pierson Teaching Award

UMKC-SOM-LogoThe School of Medicine is seeking nominations for the University’s 2014 Elmer F. Pierson Good Teaching Award.

The UMKC Alumni Association annually presents the award to an outstanding faculty member from the schools of Business and Public Administration, Dentistry, Law and Medicine. The award reflects the University’s philosophy that its reputation and the success of its students depends on the quality of its faculty and that meaningful recognition of faculty excellence encourages superior teaching and research.

School of Medicine faculty nominations should be forwarded by email to the Office of the Dean at or no later than Thursday, Nov. 13. Nominations must include a current CV, letter of nomination, letters of support, teaching evaluations and other supporting materials.

Following a School of Medicine committee review of the nominees, the name of one faculty member will be submitted to the Dean, who will approve and forward the nomination to the Office of the Provost.

The award is named for Elmer F. Pierson, a former UMKC law professor and Kansas City businessman.

School of Medicine
Elmer F. Pierson Good Teaching Award Winners

1985  Turner Minnigerode, M.D.
1986  Tom Hamilton, M.D.
1987  W. Ray Snider, M.D.
1988  Dipak Shah, M.D.
1989  Charles Foreman, M.D.
1990  George Reisz, M.D.
1991  Edward Friedlander, M.D.
1992  James F. Stanford, M.D.
1993  Matthew C. Gratton, M.D.
1994  Rose J. Zwerenz, M.D.
1995  Kendall McNabney, M.D.
1996  Louise Arnold, Ph.D.
1997  Edith Mardiat, M.A.
1998  Robert A. Schwab, M.D.
1999  Leland Graves, M.D.
2000  Jayesh Thacker, M.D.
2001  Paul Cuddy, Pharm.D.
2002  David Wooldridge, M.D.
2003  John W. Foxworth, Pharm.D.
2004  Glenn E. Talboy Jr., M.D.
2005  Christopher J. Papasian, Ph.D.
2006  Steven Go, M.D.
2007  Eyad Al-Hihi, M.D.
2008  Gary M. Gaddis, M.D.
2009  David Bamberger, M.D.
2010  Alan Salkind, M.D.
2011  Stuart Munro, M.D.
2012  James Wooten, PharmD
2013  Julie Banderas, PharmD