Long-time Department of Anesthesiology chair, Dr. Eugene Fibuch, retiring in April

Dr. Eugene Fibuch
Dr. Eugene Fibuch

Eugene Fibuch, M.D., professor and long-time chair of the School of Medicine’s Department of Anesthesiology, has announced plans to retire and step from his position as chair in Spring 2014. The department has been fortunate to have his leadership as the Chair since 1997.

He has served as only the second chair in the history of the department, and was the second program director for the residency for 35 years until transitioning that responsibility to Adam Reese, M.D., ’99, earlier this year. Under Fibuch’s leadership, the residency program flourished, graduating more than 125 residents, most of whom remain and practice in this region. Fibuch recruited the first Westport/Missouri Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology, John Wang, M.D. Together, they enhanced the research and scholarship in the department.

His leadership has extended beyond the department to include quality initiatives at Saint Luke’s Hospital and Saint Luke’s Health System. His efforts were instrumental in the recognition of Saint Luke’s Hospital as a Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award winner in 2004.

Most recently, Fibuch participated with the School of Medicine and the UMKC Bloch School for Management in the development of a Physician Leadership Program that is now in its second year.

He served as vice-chair of the Department of Anesthesiology from 1985 to 1997 and was appointed chair of anesthesiology at UMKC in 1997, overseeing a program with faculty and residents at Saint Luke’s Hospital, Truman Medical Centers, and Children’s Mercy Hospital.

Reese took on the role of residency program director last October. Reese completed his anesthesiology residency at UMKC and a neuroanesthesia fellowship at the Mayo Clinic.

The School has formed an eight-member search committee, chaired by Mark Friedell, M.D., professor and chair of surgery, and is currently in the process of developing a list of candidates for a new department chair. The position has both academic leadership responsibilities for the department across the School of Medicine and clinical leadership responsibilities at Saint Luke’s Hospital.

The affiliation agreements between the UMKC School of Medicine and its affiliated hospitals of Saint Luke’s Hospital and Truman Medical Center stipulate the process for academic department chair searches. The Anesthesiology Chair is primarily located at Saint Luke’s Hospital, with required residency rotations at Truman Medical Center. Thus the search committee is composed of eight members: three appointees from St. Luke’s Hospital, three from the School of Medicine, and two from Truman Medical Center.

There will be opportunities for faculty members from all affiliates, including Children’s Mercy Hospital, to meet candidates when they interview. A search firm will be engaged for a national search for the next chair of the department.

1 thought on “Long-time Department of Anesthesiology chair, Dr. Eugene Fibuch, retiring in April

  1. As a graduate of UMKC school of Medicine and a current anesthesia resident at the University of Chicago, I would love for UMKC to reach out to faculty members at the University of Chicago Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care to potentially fill this position. They have great attendings that would make an excellent chair

    Kevin Patel, MD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *