MSMA honors Dr. Van Way with President’s Award

Charles Van Way, III, M.D., (left) receives the Missouri State Medical Association’s 2012 President’s Award from outgoing president and UMKC professor emeritus Gary Pettett, M.D., during the MSA’s annual convention in St. Louis.

Charles Van Way, III, M.D., Sosland/Missouri Endowed Chair in Shock Trauma Research, received the Missouri State Medical Association’s 2012 President’s Award for excellence in service to medicine, colleagues and patients during the association’s annual convention March 30-April 1 in St. Louis.

A former chairman of the UMKC School of Medicine’s Department of Surgery, Van Way has served as president of the Missouri Chapter of the American College of Surgeons, president of the Metropolitan Medical Society of Greater Kansas City, and president of the Missouri State Medical Association.

He has served on the Truman Medical Center’s Medical Executive Committee, Council of Chairs, Operating Room Committee, and Trauma Quality Improvement Committee. He has also served on the Board of Directors and the Operations Committee of the University Physicians Associates, on numerous boards and committees at St. Luke’s Hospital in Kansas City and at the UMKC School of Medicine. He has also served on the Graduate Medical Education Committee at the Kansas City VA Medical Center.

Van Way received the Lifetime Achievement Award among the Heroes in Health Care in Kansas City in 2009 from Ingram’s Magazine and was named one of the 100 Best Doctors in Kansas City by the in 2005.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *