Psychiatry association selects Munro for leadership award

Stuart Munro, M.D.

Stuart Munro, M.D., who served as chair of psychiatry at the School of Medicine from 2003 to 2013, has been selected as the 2016 winner of the American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry Leadership Award.

The award recognizes outstanding service to the field of psychiatry and to the association throughout one’s career as a psychiatry department chair.

Munro joined the School of Medicine in 1985 as a member of the psychiatry faculty. In addition to his role in psychiatry, he has served in numerous administrative roles at the school including interim dean. He also served as the first chair of the school’s new Department of Medical Humanities and Social Sciences from 2013 through 2015.

Munro will receive this year’s leadership award and address association members during the Association of Academic Psychiatry annual meeting in September.