Sojourner Clinic recognizes volunteers for outstanding service

Matthew Goers, MS 5, and Sheebal Kunnell, MS 3, were recognized during the annual Sojourner’s Clinic banquet on May 9 at Diastole by Sheela Vivekanandan, MS 5, executive director of the clinic, for their service throughout the year.

The School of Medicine’s Sojourner Clinic, the student-operated free heal clinic for the inner city homeless and underprivileged, celebrated its seventh year of operation on May 9 with its annual awards banquet at Diastole, recognizing students, faculty and donors for their service throughout the school year.

Volunteers, financial supporters and community partners attended the event with Sheela Vivekanandan, MS 5, executive director, presenting awards for service and leadership.

This year’s awards included:

  • The Ellen Beck Award for inspiration and exceptional dedication to the clinic: Sheebal Kunnell, MS 3, and Matthew Goers, MS 5;
  • The Dan Purdom Award for exceptional commitment to the clinic: Craig Raphael, MS 4;
  • The Brook Nelson Award for outstanding leadership within the clinic: Ripa Patel, MS 3;
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: Vanessa Smith, MS 4, for most hours volunteered this past year.

Members of the Sojourner Clinic also honored faculty sponsors Dan Purdom, M.D., clinical associate professor of community and family practice, and Angela Barnett, M.D., clinical assistant professor of community and family practice, for their time and commitment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *