SOM staff recognized in UMKC awards event

UMKC recognized eight School of Medicine staff members for their service and work during the university’s virtual Staff Awards event on April 20.

The celebration included milestone anniversaries, staff who were a part of the 2020 graduating class and staff who completed leadership development courses offered through the university.

Rachel McCommon, coordinator of strategic initiatives in the office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, received this year’s Living the Values Award. The honor recognizes a staff employee that best exemplifies excellence in one or more of the University’s key values: Learning, Diversity, Integrity, Accountability, Respect and Collaboration. Nominees must have shown extraordinary adoption of one or more of the key values in a work-related situation.

Four staff members, Collin Foster, Years 1-2 education team coordinator; Megan Frasher, manager of medical education with the council on curriculum; Brent McCoy, senior education team coordinator; and Sandra Smith, student support specialist, took part in the Series on Leadership Essentials. The program focuses on developing leaders in the areas of communication, engagement, giving and receiving feedback, and navigating change

Lisa Mallow, manager marketing/communications, was recognized as a graduate of the Administrative Leadership Development Program. The program provides professional development opportunities and ongoing support to administrative leaders on all campuses systemwide. ALDP enhances leadership effectiveness by focusing on core leadership competencies: Performance Oriented, People Centered, Culturally Competent, Values Driven, Strategic and Integrative Leaders.

Scott Guerrero, STAHR (Students in Training, in Academia, Health, and Research) program director, and Courtney McCain, coordinator of the school’s standardized patient program, were recognized among 2020 spring, summer and fall graduates.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s ceremony took place virtually  to celebrate dedication to student success, diversity and inclusion, engagement and outreach and research and discovery.