SOM’s Litzau earns national honor in emergency medicine

Litzau Megan 5x7_5803
Megan Litzau

Megan Litzau, MS 6, has been selected as a winner of the 2015 American College of Emergency Physicians National Outstanding Medical Student Award.

The award recognizes a medical student who intends to pursue emergency medicine careers and has displayed outstanding patient care and involvement in medical organizations and the community. Litzau will continue her training in emergency medicine with a residency at the Indiana University School of Medicine.

Litzau has served as president of the school’s Emergency Medicine Interest Group and organized teams and training sessions for students who participated in the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine’s annual SimWars competition last September. A team from the School of Medicine finished second in the competition by one point.

Litzau has also been an active research participant, working on numerous research projects as a student. She presented two posters at the 2015 UMKC Health Sciences Student Research Summit in April and received the second prize for best student poster.

She has also been selected for a number of School of Medicine Senior Awards given to graduating students including Missouri State Medical Association Honors Graduate; Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Award; Thomas R. Hamilton, M.D., Award for Excellence in Microbiology; Thomas R. Hamilton, M.D., Award for Excellence in Pathology; Vice Chancellor’s Honor Roll Recipient Award and the Women in Medicine Scholarship Achievement Citation.

Litzau will receive her American College of Emergency Physicians award in October at the organization’s annual scientific assembly in Boston.