Student Research selects Sarah Morrison Award recipients

Sarah Morrison Award winners: Frank Xing, MS 4, Chris Reams, MS 4, Agostino Molteni, M.D., director of student research, Adil Akthar, MS 4, and Julia Frisenda, MS 5.

The School of Medicine Student Research Office has announced the January 2011 recipients of the Sarah Morrison Student Research Awards.

This quarter’s award winners, their abstract titles and faculty mentors include:

Chris Reams, MS 4, “Analysis of Health Care Professionals’ Keyboards, Pagers, and ID Badges as Potential Sources of Nosocomial Infection,” mentor, Gurmukh Singh, M.D., Ph.D., professor of pathology.

Adil Akthar, MS 4, “Elucidating the Mechanism of Thromboxane-Induced Calcium Entry in HL-1 Cardiac Myocytes,” mentor, Michael Wacker, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of basic medical science.

Julia Frisenda, MS 5, “Effects of Single-walled Carbon Nanotubes on p53 Tumor Suppressor Gene,” mentor, Betty Herndon, Ph.D., research associate professor.

Frank Xing, MS 4, “Effects of Amiloride on Behavioral Plasticity to Cocaine,” mentor, Xiangping Chu, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of basic medical science.

The application deadline for the next round of Sarah Morrison Student Research Awards is April 1, 2011. For application information, students should contact Agostino Molteni, M.D., Ph.D., director or student research at 235-5604 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *