Ten elected to School of Medicine AOA chapter

The School of Medicine will induct 10 new student members into its chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society next spring.

The Year 6 students recently elected to the organization include: Ashley Abraham, Fatima Ali, Brad Anderson, Erin Burns, Wesley Glick, Kelsee Leisner, Maleeha Mohiuddin, Shilpa Parthasarathy, Chris Smith, and Corey Waldman.

Student AOA members are elected based on academic standing, leadership among peers, professionalism, firm sense of ethics, and commitment to service. Faculty and resident elected to next year’s AOA class will be announced later.

The AOA class is traditionally honored with a banquet and induction ceremony in April or May. A date for next year’s School of Medicine AOA banquet has not yet been announced.

The AOA was founded in 1902 as organization dedicated to the belief that the profession of medicine will improve patient care by recognizing high education achievement, honoring gifted teaching, encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community, supporting the ideals of humanism and promoting service to others.

There are 120 AOA chapters at medical schools throughout the United States with more than 150,000 members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *