University announces search committee for School of Medicine dean

logo templateThe University of Missouri-Kansas City has announced the search committee for Dean of the School of Medicine. Betty Drees, M.D., who has served as dean for 12 years, will remain in the position until a new dean is appointed and plans to stay at the School as faculty.

“We were delighted at the level of interest. We received more than 80 nominations for the search committee for the dean, which is an important leadership role, not only at Kansas City’s university but in the community,” said UMKC Chancellor Leo E. Morton. “The decisions were difficult, but we struck the right balance among community entities, the School of Medicine’s clinical affiliates, as well as UMKC alumni, faculty, students and staff. We are grateful Dr. Drees will be at the School and make the transition a smooth one.”

The 22-member search committee will work with Greenwood/Asher & Associates, a Florida-based search firm specializing in higher education, with the goal of hiring a dean before the fall 2014 semester.

The committee includes deans from each of UMKC’s Hospital Hill Campus Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing and Health Studies, and Pharmacy, which have a core mission of collaborating on interprofessional health education.

Search Committee Members

· Lawrence Dreyfus, Co Chair UMKC Vice Chancellor, Research & Economic Development
· Mark Steele, Co Chair Executive Director, Truman Medical Center, Executive Medical Director, University Physician Associates, Professor and Associate Dean for TMC Programs at UMKC
· Alice Arredondo, Assistant Dean of Selection, UMKC School of Medicine
· John Bluford III, Chief Executive Officer, Truman Medical Centers
· Jerry Burton, Clinical Assistant Professor, UMKC School of Medicine
· Ann Cary Dean, UMKC School of Nursing and Health Studies
· David Cohen, Director of Cardiovascular Research, Saint Luke’s Mid America Heart Institute, Missouri Endowed Professor of Cardiovascular Research, UMKC
· Timothy Dellenbaugh, Residency Director, Center for Behavioral Medicine
· Melinda Estes, Chief Executive Officer, Saint Luke’s Health System
· Katherine Glaser, Year 4 Student in UMKC School of Medicine
· Matt Gratton, Chairman, Department of Emergency Medicine, Truman/UMKC, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
· Judge Jon Gray Shook, Hardy & Bacon
· Jacqueline Griffin, Associate Administrator for Behavioral Health, Truman
· Mark Hoffman, Director, Center for Health Insights at UMKC, Associate Professor, Biomedical & Health Informatics, Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Director, Translational Bioinformatics, Children’s Mercy
· Michele Kilo, Division Director, Developmental & Behavioral Sciences, Developmental Pediatrician, Children’s Mercy, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, UMKC
· Jane Knapp, Associate Chair for Education for Department of Pediatrics, Chair of Department of Graduate Medical Education, Designated Institutional Official for Children’s Mercy
· Michael Plamann, Professor, UMKC School of Biological Sciences
· Marsha Pyle Dean, UMKC School of Dentistry
· Russ Melchert, Dean, UMKC School of Pharmacy
· Brenda Rogers, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, UMKC School of Medicine
· Nelson Sabates, Professor and Department Chair of Ophthalmology at UMKC, Director, Vision Research Center at UMKC
· Tarak Srivastava, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Children’s Mercy Hospital, UMKC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *