Vision Research Center

Leadership & Faculty

Nelson Sabates, M.D.

Professor, Department Chair, President of the Vision Research Foundation, President and CEO - Sabates Eye Centers, P.C.
Department(s) of Ophthalmology
Vision Research Center

Specialties and Research/Medical Interests

Retina and Vitreous

Sabates, Nelson
View Full Profile
Peter Koulen, Ph.D., FARVO

Professor, Felix and Carmen Sabates / Missouri Endowed Chair in Vision Research, Director of Basic Research, Vision Research Center
Department(s) of Biomedical Sciences, Ophthalmology
Section: Neurosciences
Vision Research Center Koulen, Peter
Koulen, Peter
View Full Profile


Vision Research Center at UMKC


Nelson R. Sabates, MD

Vice-Chairman Clinical Services
David B. Lyon, MD

Director of Basic Research
Peter Koulen, PhD,
Felix and Carmen Sabates Missouri Endowed Chair

Residency Program
Matthew Sniegowski, MD, Program Director
Katie J. Macaluso, MD, Associate Program Director

Comprehensive Ophthalmology
Komal K. Desai, MD
Mahendra K. Rupani, MD
Timothy A. Walline, MD

Katie J. Macaluso, MD

Rohit Krishna, MD
Kevin P. Pikey, DO

Sean Gratton, MD

Ocular Oncology
Komal K. Desai, MD

Ocular Pathology
Mahendra K. Rupani, MD

Oculoplastics & Orbital Surgery
David B. Lyon, MD
Matthew C. Sniegowski, MD

Pediatric Ophthalmology
Michelle Ariss, MD
Denise Hug, MD
Scott Atkinson, MD
Laura S. Plummer, MD
Erin Stahl, MD
Justin Marsh, MD
Timothy Hug, OD

Refractive Surgery
Katie Macaluso, MD
Timothy A. Walline, MD

Retina & Vitreous
Felix N. Sabates, MD
Nelson R. Sabates, MD
Abraham K. Poulose, MD
Michael A. Cassell, MD

Contact Lens & Low Vision
Ramona Baumfalk, OD

Vision Research Center
Nelson R. Sabates, MD, Director
Peter Koulen, PhD, Director of Basic Research, Endowed Chair
Simon H. Friedman, PhD
William G. Gutheil, PhD
Thomas P. Johnston, PhD
Chi H. Lee, PhD
Mridul Mukherji, D Phil
Dhananjay Pal, PhD
Ting Xie, PhD