M.D. Program

Medical Scholars Program

New Red Docent_7299

The UMKC School of Medicine offers a Medical Scholars Program that would offer early and guaranteed admission to college students interested in applying to our medical school. The Medical Scholars Program is a pathway into the M.D. Program, which accepts students who have earned, or will soon earn, a baccalaureate degree. Applicants for the Medical Scholars Program are students currently in their sophomore or junior year of college and who attend the following universities:

  • UMKC
  • Avila University
  • Drury University
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Missouri Western State University
  • Park University
  • Rockhurst University
  • Truman State University
  • University of Missouri – St. Louis
  • William Jewell College
  • Lincoln University
  • University of Illinois – Chicago
  • Northwest Missouri State University
  • University of Missouri – Columbia

Once admitted to Medical Scholars, a student would then have a seat in the M.D. program for the appropriate term after graduating with a baccalaureate degree.

This early admission program is for students who will earn a baccalaureate degree from a partner institution and successfully complete all final matriculation requirements.

M.D. students enter the medical program and enroll in the Human Structure Function series in January, remaining in the program for 48 consecutive months. You can find more on the M.D. Program curriculum here.

Three distinct curriculum plans have been devised, which allow M.D. students to proceed through the curriculum along one of three possible tracks. Two tracks provide the M.D. students with five months of time during which they do not formally enroll.

Track 1: The first track allows M.D. students to elect the five-month leave of absence immediately following completion of USMLE Step 1.

Track 2: The second track provides a five-month leave of absence midway through the clinical clerkship sequence.

Track 3: The third track allows M.D. students to complete their 48 months of continuous enrollment in December and does not provide any break during the program (other than 1 month of vacation time, per year, of enrollment).