Faculty Awards

Faculty Award for Excellence in Diversity and Health Equity in Medicine


This award acknowledges and celebrates individual faculty engaged in efforts that create a more inclusive institutional culture that promotes success for all.  It also recognizes efforts to advance the understanding of health equity, health disparities, cultural competency in medicine, and greater access and opportunities for surrounding community.


Faculty recipients for this award include those with a record of excellence in fostering leadership and commitment to diversity, inclusion and health equity by expanding opportunities for diverse students, staff, faculty, residents/fellows, and the surrounding community.  The award recognizes sustained contributions and an active commitment to promoting and enhancing the educational experience at the UMKC School of Medicine.  Consistent contributions in the areas of diversity, inclusion, cultural competency or health equity may include:

  1. Recruiting and/or retaining a diverse student or faculty body;
  2. Facilitating an inclusive environment of success for all;
  3. Working to promote health equity and the elimination of health disparities; and
  4. Strengthening efforts to develop or implement cultural competency strategies that improve healthcare delivery.

Full and part time UMKC School of Medicine Faculty

Nomination guidelines and materials to be submitted by the deadline:

Nominees may be nominated by UMKC staff, faculty, students, residents/fellows, administrators, clinical affiliates or community members.  Self-nominations are also acceptable.

To be considered, the following information must be submitted:

  1. A nomination letter explaining the nominee’s qualifications for the award which provides specific details and examples concerning sustained commitment to diversity and the impact of that commitment on medical education or a related area (as stated above) (not to exceed three double-spaced pages).
  2. Each nominator may name one individual.
  3. A one-page description of the diversity-related program, initiative or project.
  4. A current curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee. The nominator must notify the nominee of the materials that the nominee needs to submit for consideration.

Each nominator is encouraged to solicit additional letters of support for his/her nominee, not to exceed 4 from others who have been influenced or could attest to the contributions of the nominee as described above.

Prior Winners:

  • 2021 – Liset Olarte, M.D.
  • 2020 – Molly A. Uhlenhake, D.O.
  • 2019 – Kathy Ervie, M.P.A.S., P.A.-C
  • 2017 – Brianna Woods-Jaeger, M.D.
  • 2016 – Fariha Shafi, M.D.