Office of Student Affairs

Student Representatives

Class Officers for the 2019-2020 Year

Year 1 Class Officers

President: David Morcos
Vice President: Manu Kaur
Secretary: Julia Daklke
Treasurer: Caitlin Kolugan
Social Activities Chair: Shreya Gautam

Year 2 Class Officers

President: Sameena Hameed
Vice-President: Hari Randhawa
Secretary: Corrine Workman
Treasurer: Bianca Ituarte
Social Activities Chair: Fahd Malik

Year 3 Class Officers

President: Daniel Oh
Vice President: Liesl Larson
At-Large Representative: Divya Divya
At-Large Representative: Fareeha Naseer

Year 4 Class Officers

President: Milan Malhotra
Vice President: Yen Luu
At-Large Representative: Adnan Islam
At-Large Representative: Valerie Kirtley

Year 5 Class Officers

President: Lauren Davidson
Vice President: Sarthak Garg
At-Large Representative: Akhil Pulumati
At-Large Representative: Noor Aftab

Year 6 Class Officers

President: Shane Storm
Vice-President: Jessica Kieu
At-Large Representative: Thomas Haferkamp
At-Large Representative: Shipra Singh
At-Large Representative: Saumya Singh

Council Representatives

UMKC School of Medicine students are represented on school-wide councils responsible for various aspects of the educational program. These are elected positions with several student representatives on each council. The election process occurs in spring and is initiated through self-nomination, allowing students who have an identified interest in a particular aspect of medical education to become involved in that area. All terms begin on the first day of the school year, occurring in late-May.

Coordinating Committee approves all actions by the other Councils. The student rep for the Coordinating Committee is elected by and among the other Council Reps.

  • Maggie Urschler
  • Jonathan Jalali (1st alternate)
  • Elizabeth Theng (2nd alternate)

Council on Selections is responsible for identifying and selecting students for admission to the School of Medicine. It meets four times a year, and members of this council are asked to be available for applicant interviews December through March.  It is necessary for Selection Council members to be on a rotation that fits with this interviewing schedule. Students serving on this council must currently be in good academic standing.

  • Elizabeth Theng
  • Maggie Urschler

Council on Evaluation is responsible for evaluating performance at all levels of the medical school, both student and faculty (although students do not sit on the subcommittee for faculty promotion). It meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m..  Students serving on this Council must have good academic standing for their entire medical school career.

  • Jonathan Jalali
  • Jordan Longabaugh

Council on Curriculum is responsible for monitoring all curricular programs  and initiating curricular changes at the School of Medicine.  It meets on the 2nd Monday of the month at 1:00 p.m. in the Humanities Conference Room. Students serving on this Council must currently be in good academic standing.

  • Kabir Torres (voting)
  • Caroline Olson (1st alternate)
  • Mohammaed Hasan (2nd alternate)

Council of Docents is responsible for all activities and curriculum related to the Docent Units including the ambulatory care clinics and Docent Rotation. Meetings are once a month, currently at 7:30 a.m. on the 4th Wednesday of the month. Students must be in good academic standing.

  • Blue – Brandon Trandai
  • Gold – Rawan Rajab
  • Green – Tom Mathews
  • Purple – Erica Swanson
  • Red – Koral Shah

Diversity Council

  • Chidera Okafor
  • Angela Nwankwo

National Board of Alumni and Partners

  • Tim Weber
Organization of Student Representatives

The Organization of Student Representatives of the Association of American Medical Colleges is one of the major governing councils of the AAMC.  Its purpose is to address all issues pertinent to medical students nationwide.

  • Ben Bernard (voting delegate, completing 2nd year of his position in 19-20)
  • Prarthana Patel (completing 2nd year of her position in 19-20)
  • Adiba Matin (2 years; will be voting delegate in 20-21)
  • Nicholas Yeisley (2 years)